Skip navigation Jump to main navigation

Applications for 2024 Columbia Summer Session programs are now open!

Close alert

Ashifi Gogo

Lecturer, Technology Management

Ashifi Gogo founded Sproxil in 2009 and serves as the company’s Chief Executive Officer. Under his leadership, Sproxil developed its award-winning Sproxil Defender™ technology that has been used by consumers globally to verify product authenticity.

The technology is also being used offers mobile marketing services that provide value to end-users and product manufacturers and/or distributors; with consumer engagement and loyalty applications rewarding millions of consumers for their interactions. Former President Bill Clinton described Sproxil as “a genuinely remarkable achievement... (it's) empowering... putting people in charge of their own healthcare.” Sproxil’s solution is applicable to virtually any tangible product is now used on multiple continents and in many industries including automotive, garment and fast-moving consumer goods.

Gogo’s work has been recognized through a variety of awards and fellowships. He was awarded the Social Entrepreneur of the Year award in 2014 by the Schwab Foundation. In 2013, Sproxil was named the world’s most innovative company in health care by Fast Company, and #7 most innovative worldwide, beating 99 of the Fortune 100 companies. He received a Clinton Foundation Global Initiative Outstanding Commitment Award, led Sproxil to win a grant from the United States Agency for International Development and attract venture funding from Acumen Fund in New York. Gogo currently serves on the World Economic Forum’s Global Agenda Council on Social Innovation and on the Meta-Council on the Illicit Economy.

An expert in end-consumer authentication technologies, Gogo holds a U.S. Patent and is also a named inventor on multiple published U.S. and foreign patent applications, one of which has been recognized by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, winning a Patents for Humanity award for its significant positive humanitarian impact. He is Dartmouth's first-ever Ph.D. Innovation Fellow.


  • Ph.D., Dartmouth College
  • B.A., Whitman College